Tags

, , , , , , ,

How to Save Money on Your Wedding Stationary a 7 part Blog

How to Save Money on Your Wedding Stationary a 7 part Blog

DIY is not always a time or money saver: helpful hints

If you use Pinterest you are probably familiar with those comical “nailed it” photos. Like this one:

DIY Fail

DIY Fail

Unfortunately weddings aren’t immune to DIY failure. There’s a hilarious example from the Project Wedding forum that illustrates just how horribly wrong a simple DIY Project can go!

Don’t get me wrong, I love DIY and I did a ton of it for my own wedding. However, I can honestly say I paid more for my DIY projects in most cases than I would have if I had purchased from a professional.

I know this sounds counter-intuitive…but it’s true. DIY is not always a time or money saver. I can’t even tell you how many brides I’ve encountered on wedding forums and in my shop that were completely frustrated with DIY projects and never finished them. Not only did they spend money (and tons of time) on the DIY projects, they then paid a designer to create the same items for them. This duplication of effort can create budget busting costs!

Take into consideration, when planning your DIY projects: the time needed, and the cost of tools and supplies. I was stunned to see how much stuff I had to purchase using the trial and error approach and how much money I wasted on things that just did not work out.  I also wasted a lot of time on stuff I did not end up using.

Professionals are professionals because they already own all the tools and supplies and have already worked through the failures. Professionals have the experience and know-how to get the project done with little to no frustration for you!

So, the morale of the story is: Unless you are “crafty” and/or sentimental about creating your own items, skip the DIY frustrations and purchase the items you’ll really love.

